July 15, 2016

7:45 AM to 7:00 PM

MIT Media Lab - 6th Floor



8:00 a.m.–8:30 a.m.


8:30 a.m.–8:35 a.m.

David Verrill—MIT Initiative for the Digital Economy

Introduction of Sam Palmisano

8:35 a.m.–8:40 a.m.

Andrew McAfee—MIT

Rise of the Platform Enterprise

8:40 a.m.–9:20 a.m.

Samuel J. Palmisano—Former CEO, IBM; Chairman, Center for Global Enterprise

Global Platform Survey

9:20 a.m.–9:50 a.m.

Peter C. Evans—Vice President, Center for Global Enterprise

Panel: CEO Panel on Future of Workplace Platforms

9:50 a.m.–10:35 a.m.

Panel Chair: Fabio Rosati—Former CEO and Board Member, Upwork and Elance

Mynul Khan—Founder/CEO, Field Nation

Lukas Biewald—Founder/CEO, CrowdFlower

Stephanie Leffler—CEO, OneSpace

Coffee Break

10:35 a.m.–11:05 a.m.

Platform Wars - the Battle for Developers

11:05 a.m.–11:40 a.m.

Janel Garvin—CEO, Evans Data Corp

Building Energy Platforms

11:40 a.m.–12:10 p.m.

John Schultz—President, Direct Energy Business


12:10 p.m.–1:10 pm

Cognitive Platform for the 21st Century Enterprise

1:10 p.m.–1:40 p.m.

Sanjiv Sidhu—Founder and Chairman, o9 Solutions

How Incumbents Build Platforms

1:40 p.m.–2:10 p.m.

Simon Torrance—Digital Ecosystem Management, BearingPoint

NRECA: Leveraging Existing Assets to Build a Platform

2:10 p.m.–2:40 p.m.

John Reynolds—Managing Director, Agile Fractal Grid, Inc.

Fireside Chat: Turning Brands Into Platforms

2:40 p.m.–3:10 p.m.

Sangeet Choudary—Founder/Director, Platform Strategy Labs

Teo Correia—Global Managing Director of Consumer Goods and Services, Accenture

Coffee Break

3:10 p.m.–3:40 p.m.

Panel: Platform Valuation and Venture Capital

3:40 p.m.–4:25 p.m.

Panel Chair: Geoff Parker—Dartmouth College/MIT

Larry Bohn—Managing Director, General Catalyst Partners

Graham Brooks—Partner, 406 Ventures

Dominic Endicott—General Partner, Nauta Capital

Michael Weiksner—General Partner, Rostrum Capital

How Platforms Change Structure and Strategy

4:25 p.m.–4:55 p.m.

Marshall Van Alstyne—Boston University

Update on the EU Single Digital Market

4:55 p.m.–5:25 p.m.

Eric Peters—Deputy Head of Unit, Digital Single Market

Closing Remarks

5:25 p.m.–5:40 p.m.

Geoff Parker—Dartmouth College/MIT

Marshall Van Alstyne—Boston University

Reception at MIT Media Lab

5:40 p.m.–7:00 p.m.